复杂与简约共存的建筑:
BAU478-A 南京上秦淮U-Park孵化器

中国,江苏省,南京市

BAU478-A_Image_007
BAU478-A_Image_008
BAU478-A_Image_010
BAU478-A_Image_012
BAU478-A_Image_013
BAU478-A_Image_003
BAU478-A_Image_019
BAU478-A_Image_020
BAU478-A_Image_017
BAU478-A_Image_014
BAU478-A_Image_015
BAU478-A_Image_025
BAU478-A_Image_022
BAU478-A_Image_023
BAU478-A_Image_027
BAU478-A_Image_028
BAU478-A_Image_029-1
BAU478-A_Image_029-2
BAU478-A_Image_030
BAU478-A_Image_031
BAU478-A_Image_032
BAU478-A_Image_033
BAU478-A_Image_034
BAU478-A_Image_035
BAU478-A_Image_036

科目

建筑,景观建筑

类型

办公,酒店,公寓,零售商业,公共景观

城市

中国,江苏省,南京市

时间

2012 – 2015

名次

2015年竣工

业主

南京紫金(江宁)科技创业特别社区建设发展有限公司

项目

10,000人办公园区的各类配套基础设施(包括景观,酒店及公寓

复杂与简约共存的建筑
南京上秦淮U-Park孵化器

游牧思想的生成
纵观现代建筑史,它不仅展示着建筑的发展历程,也呈现着人们构建理想乌托邦的过程。然而,人们构建的理想之邦往往都是以失败告终。乌托邦是为一“邦”之人所创建的理想生活之地,但却是由一个人或是极少数人构想出来的,对广大民众来说,这一强加于其上的“乌托邦”,并非是那么美好、理想,反而是一个恶托邦。并且,这一理想之邦都太过于单一化、同质化,摒弃了人们所向往的多样化社会。

人们在构建乌托邦时,往往是以大叙事为基础,并运用结构主义学中过于简单、死板的理论来应对过程中所遇到的各类复杂、灵活、多变问题。但近年来,随着后结构主义的兴起,人们逐渐开始意识到单一的理论框架、大叙事并不能有效地应对这一充满偶然性、多样化的社会,以及不断涌现的各类机遇和挑战,只有更为综合、复杂的哲学观才能创建出理想、完美的城市。

在近60年后结构主义的发展进程中,Deleuze和Guattari提出并发展了一系列创造性哲学理论,其中涵盖了装配论、抽象机器论、根系论、以及崇高美学论。并且,其二者也对当时的西方哲学思想中根深蒂固的理论观点产生了质疑,针对当时西方盛行的存在论提出了与其相左的生成本体论,以及与逻各斯(事物恒定本质)理论相对的诺摩斯(事物不断变换)认识论。并且世间万物,包括我们人类,都是处于不断变换的状态,只有开发、多元化游牧式思想才能完美地适应并应对这一瞬息万变的世界。

异托邦
随着当代建筑的发展,后结构主义思潮逐渐兴起。虽然对这一浪潮源起于Alvar Aalto有着较大的争议,但也正是Aalto在当时较为独特的设计手法-在功能化、理性化的现代主义建筑中融入了合理化的感情色彩,构建出异托邦-并非是将同一化的理想强加于各个体上,而是根据个体的不同需求,构建出一系列共存的、多元化的理想空间,这才是大众真正所期望的乌托邦。

此外,Aalto、Robert Venturi和Dennis Scott-Brown作品,以及深受《建筑的复杂性与矛盾性》影响的后现代主义,Koolhaas 及 OMAs的肮脏现实主义论,以及八九十年代Deleuze及Guattari所推崇的哲学理念,都直接或间接地揭示出太过客观死板的大叙事及同一化的乌托邦正逐渐失去它的魅力。

城市环境
随着中国经济的转型,为了能够进一步增强中国的科技创新力,并逐渐从世界加工工厂向科研创新强国转变,大量的工业加工区正逐渐被改建成科技研发区。纵观全球成功的科技研发园区,不难发现他们都有着如下的特点:首先,其在选址上往往临近工业区及大学校区;其次,政府给予着大力的扶持;然后,往往都建造于正经历着巨大转型的城市之中。

南京作为中国近年来正经历着巨大变迁的城市之一,随着城市的飞速发展,越来越多的科技研发园区开始在南京扎根落地。上秦淮U-park作为南京紫金(江宁)科技创业特别社区的首个企业孵化园,为了能够从众多的科技研发园脱颖而出,吸引更多新兴企业入驻,本案选址于2平方公里南京紫金(江宁)科技创业特别社区的北侧,东临正处于施工中的14平方公里配套生活居住社区,西靠工业区,北依大学城,在地理位置上有着极佳的优势。同时紧邻规划中的地铁站线以及奥特莱斯商业广场,基地对面是一个已竣工的小型绿地公园,西侧的综合研发办公楼也已开始施工。

五大理想设计理念
起初,上秦淮项目看貌似是在构建一个业主所需求的乌托邦之城-在忽视功能多元化及周边环境的情况下,打造出巨型的办公塔楼。但实际上,BAU在接手本项目之时,希望不仅仅是为业主打造其所需要的乌托邦,也能为广大的民众创建其所期望的乌托邦。因此在设计中,BAU综合考虑了诸多因素,不仅考虑了本项目任务书上所提及的建筑要求,也思量了该区域在不久之后将会成为一片繁华的城区。

于此基础上,BAU提出了五大理想设计理念,并将这五大理念有机地结合,创建出复杂且多元化的建筑,超越了机械化的理念叠加手法。

设计理念1: 建筑功能空间多元化
起初,本项目设计任务要求打造出24万平方米的办公空间,并且对建筑高度、容积率、观景视野以及日照等都提出了相应要求。

在设计过程中,为了能够丰富并完善五栋塔楼的建筑功能,BAU特意向业主建议将五栋办公塔楼中的两栋改成居住塔楼,一栋为人才公寓,另一栋为酒店。而三栋办公塔楼主要面向各企业提供租赁,因此也考虑到能够进一步促进企业精英及新生代人才的交流、学习及合作,BAU不仅在五栋建筑塔楼的首层以及裙楼的屋顶层创建了数个公共交流空间,也于塔楼的顶层开设了企业家俱乐部,为企业精英及人才进行思想交流、合作互助提供了平台。

设计理念2:于五栋塔楼底层增加裙楼,激活城市边缘区域、丰富孵化器功能、营造活跃街道空间,减少建筑周边的下冲气流
五栋塔楼分散地耸立于300米长*130米深的大型基地内,对过路的行人来说,这并非是理想的城市空间体验。为此,BAU别具匠心地在本案基地内增加了三层裙房,将五栋塔楼相互连接,也于裙楼内加入了一些活跃的、人流量较大的功能项目。

此外,裙楼内也包含了92,000平方米的各类企业服务部门,例如:法务部、财务部、市场调研部、网络部、人力资源部、以及事政服务机构等,进一步促进并引领各小型或新兴企业的蓬勃发展。同时,为了能够向各入驻的企业提供完善的配套设施,裙房内也安设了礼堂、展厅、会议室、公共休闲区、庭院、服务式办公室、厨房以及一系列小型/中型办公室和工作室等。为了能够将280米长的裙楼内各非正式办公区以及公共交流区相互连接,BAU在设计时引入了三大轴线,两条室内轴线以及一条室外轴线。3D打印作为该孵化园区的主要及特色产业,在裙房的中心区域也专为3D打印技术开设了展厅。裙楼底层的专用入口大厅及可直达裙房各楼层的自动扶梯都方便了人们进出裙楼及使用其各功能空间。

设计理念3:裙楼底层架空,渗入周边环境,激活南侧商业
由于本项目建筑正前方有一条城市主干道,后方为大片商业区域,为了能够将周边的环境完美地渗透入建筑,同时也不打破裙楼内现下完美的功能布局及流线,BAU最终决定将裙房架高两层,不仅满足了上述要求,也为南侧商业创建了可直达的人行通道。

设计理念4:于架空的裙楼底层增设各类气泡商业,丰富人们的城市空间体验
由于裙楼底层架空,不仅为增设各类功能空间提供了可能,也创建了各直通道可直达各塔楼入口、城市道路以及南侧商业。为了能够更好地契合企业孵化园区的主题,BAU在裙楼架空底层增设数个蛋形商业气泡,并且在景观设计上也引入了蛋形气泡的设计理念-各流线。

在气泡商业的功能设置上,为了能够丰富人们城市空间的体验,BAU引入了各类商业休闲空间,例如:餐厅及咖啡馆,银行,电信服务中心,医疗中心,报刊亭,花铺,便利店,科技展厅以及各大品牌的零售商铺等。

设计理念5:遵循Le Corbusier建筑新观点,在架高的裙房顶层安设屋顶花园
在本项目的设计上,BAU至始至终都在裙房的顶层安设了一个屋顶花园,现下由于将裙房架高了两层,原先位于四层的屋顶花园也被抬升至了六层。由于该裙房几乎覆盖了整个项目基地,其顶层的屋顶花园面积之广,也将成为南京当地、乃至全中国、甚至整个世界最大的屋顶花园之一。而在其景观设计上,由于该屋顶花园会成为五栋塔楼的次首层,为了方便人们使用该花园及进出大楼,BAU特意创建了一系列流线、小道、捷径、以及与首层呼应的功能气泡区。当人们身处塔楼内,鸟瞰整个基地,屋顶花园将完美地融入基地及周边环境,为人们创建了极佳的观景视野。

为了能够丰富人们的业余休闲生活,BAU在屋顶花园功能空间设计上,特意加入了一条900米长的环形跑道,篮球场和网球场,五个休闲咖吧亭,并且在各塔楼的次首层将安设餐厅、食堂、健身房、托儿所以及俱乐部,儿童游乐场,数个遮阳工作休闲区,以及一个可以容纳2000人的会议厅。此外,BAU也在该屋顶花园内设计了2条可直通南侧商业屋顶景观区的木质铺装桥,不仅为南侧商业聚集了人气,也将900米长的环形跑道延长至1.2公里。

“抽象机器”
BAU巧妙地将本项目内的五大城市及建筑设计要求有机地整合入设计中,其各自的差异构成了一台“抽象机器”,生成了清晰而又复杂的城市及建筑外形、空间、秩序以及城市空间体验。

复杂与简约共存的建筑
本项目不仅创建出一个多元化的异托邦,同时也在设计上显现出了极简主义的设计特色-与周边自然环境的紧密联系,追求自然简约的风格;并且,在设计过程中,相较于苦恼着如何解决各类城市及建筑设计问题,尽可能地将其完整地从设计中呈现出来。BAU则是采取了更为明智的做法-将各自最为精华的部分巧妙地融入到设计中。但这也并非是退回到单一的简约主义,又或是跳跃到抽象的表现主义,而是将复杂的城市及建筑设计问题中各自最为根本的应对策略有机地整合,构建出一个简约而不简单、复杂而又不繁琐的建筑。

2000-2005

城市设计

墨尔本

住宅

凯恩顿

办公

综合

2015

体育

公共

公共空间景观

医疗

南京

城市景观

文化

游乐场

2005–2010

苏州

酒店

上海

教育

2014

杭州

构筑物及景观亭

江阴

无锡

规划

2013

商业

2012

福鼎

绍兴

重庆

昆山

餐饮娱乐

办公

武汉

酒店

医疗

慈溪

宁波

眉山

堪培拉

2011

荆州

私有空间景观

成都

餐饮娱乐

文化

1990-2000

厦门

住宅

霍普顿

曹妃甸

淮安

西安

新余

体育

商业

综合

BAU009 城市雕塑之空中楼阁

BAU019 Marymount 住宅、客房、马厩及办公

文化之城:
BAU590 南京海峡两岸科工园海桥社区服务中心

低调不失韵味:
BAU 214 苏州清山酒店一期

积极的开发空间网络与蓝绿网络打造宜人、宜居的住宅小区:
BAU 213-1 金地云湖住宅

BAU495 南京高淳瑶池精品酒店

BAU436 南京市江宁区示范幼儿园

远昭于山脊,近隐于群翠:
BAU424 苏州清山酒店二期

BAU310-1 杭州长板巷住宅小区

BAU238 江阴新桥社区中心广场

BAU199-2 无锡复地公园城邦住宅售楼处

综合了“步行城市”、“网络城市”和“城市节点”概念的城市设计:
BAU552 南京高淳城北科技新城

BAU547 南京桠溪镇中心卫生院

BAU546 南京高淳漆桥中心卫生院

复杂与简约共存的建筑:
BAU478-A 南京上秦淮U-Park孵化器

BAU474 南京紫金(高淳)科技创业特别社区城市设计

BAU461 南京汤山旅游度假区南片区

别具特色的医院:
BAU446 福鼎市医院

BAU445 苏州高新区文化中心

BAU426 绍兴鉴湖柯岩旅游度假区

BAU425 重庆生态谷城

城中之城:
BAU348 昆山康居新城江南片区商业街

BAU347 昆山白塔公园

BAU310 杭州长板巷住宅小区

BAU302 上海绿地宝山

独特的功能布局-将封闭空间转变成公共开放空间:
BAU254 上海外高桥文化中心

BAU199 无锡复地住宅小区•公园城邦•悉尼阳光

BAU197 金地三林售楼处

BAU191 武汉翠微园住宅

BAU227_杭州瑞成体育中心

BAU213-1_金地云湖住宅

BAU543_杭州严陵坞美丽乡村一期

BAU487_南京桠溪慢城

BAU469_上海青浦赵巷卫生院

BAU408_上海张江中学

BAU324_慈溪市东部文化商务区城市设计

BAU530_1_南京高淳苏皖交通枢纽

BAU281_重庆华润规划设计

BAU243_上海外环公园

BAU204-2_宁波万达售楼处

BAU129_新湖明珠城住宅

BAU125_浙江电力公司总部大楼

BAU550_四川黄龙溪谷城市规划设计

BAU497_墨尔本温德姆海湾生态城镇规划

BAU470_堪培拉城市设计

BAU460_荆州博物馆

BAU396_南京骋望骊都住宅设计

BAU341_江阴郚山弯路学校

BAU338_金桥坡道餐厅

BAU321_江阴五星商业广场

BAU312_苏州科技城高级中学

BAU287_21世纪的维琪奥桥 :上海世博会桥

BAU285_成都北区中央活力区城市设计

BAU282_金地三林售楼处

BAU264_嘉善旧工厂改造

文化与商业的交融:
BAU256_上海虹桥艺术中心

BAU235_金桥蓝天路休闲酒吧

BAU220_上海雕塑艺术中心

BAU122_厦门国际会展中心广场规划设计

BAU018_Marque酒店

BAU016_Kelleher住宅

BAU013_霍普顿 生态度假村

BAU510_苏州有轨电车公司总部

BAU486A_江阴市滨江公园

BAU433_张江诺贝尔湖绿地网络公园

BAU416_唯一之城——曹妃甸

BAU390_杭州多蓝水岸商业建筑

BAU386_杭州下沙共生城市

BAU384_昆山前进路小亭

BAU339-2&3_苏州河滨水步道

BAU339-1_苏州河-天原河滨公园

BAU318_杭州萧山政府办公楼

BAU234_江阴廊桥公园

BAU226_浦东洋泾地区中心规划设计

BAU224_成都市凤凰山

BAU208_临平新城市中心

BAU206_杭州下沙新城市中心

BAU193_成都青羊区城市设计

BAU189_虹桥公园

BAU182_成都东村

BAU149_淮安大学城

BAU147_西安高新技术区CBD

BAU138_新余市高新技术经济开发区概念规划

BAU119_上海金桥碧云体育休闲中心

BAU544_上海大学宝山校区

Top

an excessive minimalism:
BAU478-A U-Park Incubator, Shang Qing Huai, Nanjing

Nanjing City, Jiangsu Province, China

BAU478-A_Image_007
BAU478-A_Image_008
BAU478-A_Image_010
BAU478-A_Image_012
BAU478-A_Image_013
BAU478-A_Image_003
BAU478-A_Image_019
BAU478-A_Image_020
BAU478-A_Image_017
BAU478-A_Image_014
BAU478-A_Image_015
BAU478-A_Image_025
BAU478-A_Image_022
BAU478-A_Image_023
BAU478-A_Image_027
BAU478-A_Image_028
BAU478-A_Image_029-1
BAU478-A_Image_029-2
BAU478-A_Image_030
BAU478-A_Image_031
BAU478-A_Image_032
BAU478-A_Image_033
BAU478-A_Image_034
BAU478-A_Image_035
BAU478-A_Image_036

Discipline

Architecture, Landscape Architecture

Typology

Office, hotel, apartment, retail, public landscape

City

Nanjing City, Jiangsu Province, China

Date

2012 – 2015

Status

Completed 2015

Client

Nanjing Zijing (Jiangning) Scientific Entrepreneur Special Community Construction Development Co, Ltd

Program

Infrastructure for a working community of 10,000, including landscape, hotel and apartments

An excessive minimalism
U-Park Incubator, Shang Qing Huai, Nanjing

becoming Nomad
The history of modern architecture is also the history of exciting utopian visions. However, utopias generally fail because what is seen as a utopia by one or some, often becomes the imposition of a dystopia on the many. Unfortunately, utopias are often so single-minded and exclusive of difference that they alienate a majority of the very society with which they are purporting to engage.

Utopias are a form of meta-narrative, part of a structuralist idea of thought that ultimately suggests overly simple, rigid, and ideological answers to a series of complex, flexible, ever-changing problems. More recently, post-structuralist thought argues that meta-narratives are no longer useful in dealing with the complex opportunities and challenges of contemporary society and posit that a more inclusive and complex philosophical view could yield better results.

Within the 60 years of post-structutralist thought, Deleuze and Guattari have developed a philosophy of creativity that embraces many concepts, including assemblage, abstract machines, the Rhizome, and a resultant aesthetic of the sublime. Deleuze and Guattari have even questioned the very foundations of Western thought, calling for an ontology of becoming, rather than of being, and an epistemology of Nomos, rather than Logos? All of us are, and every thing is, in a state of constant change and to assist in dealing with this process we need become intellectual Nomads.

heterotopia
This post-structuralist thought has been reflected in contemporary architectural discourse and it has been argued that the ordering sensibilities of Alvar Aalto are a source of this attitude in architecture. Aalto’s ordering sensibility has been classified as a collection and coexistence of utopias, what constitutes a heterotopia. Not a singular vision imposed on the many, but a coexistence of an assemblage of utopias for the many.

Aalto’s work, together with the work of Robert Venturi and Dennis Scott-Brown; the other Greys of the post-modern movement influenced and inspired by the post-structuralist text of Complexity and Contradiction in Architecture ; Koolhaas and OMAs dirty realism; and a focus during the 80’s and 90’s on the philosophy of Deleuze and Guattari; indicate that meta-narratives and utopias no longer hold their allure.

urban context
As China shifts to become the world’s innovator and not just its factory, it is transforming its industrial zones into technopoles. These new research and design (R+D) districts have all the essential ingredients of success: they are adjacent to industry and universities; have the support of government; and are located in a country undergoing massive change.

Shang Qing Huai district is in competition with 21 other new technopoles in Nanjing. The U Park Incubator is this technopole’s first seed development. It is intended to lure enterpises to start-up in, or move to, this district. The project is situated on the northern boundary of the 2 sq km technopole. To the east of the district a fourteen square kilometer residential district is being established. To the west an industry zone and to its north is a university district. The incubator is immediately adjacent to a planned metro station and factory outlets shopping mall. Opposite the site a small park has been completed. To the west an R+D office complex has commenced construction.

five utopias
At first the Shangqinghuai project seems to be a utopian urban project, a Metabolist mega structure or a (Dutch) Structuralist project on steroids, that could go on forever while ignoring both program and context. But this project is not another utopia. It is an engagement with all the complexities of what was a soon to become urban site and the architectural issues of a complex brief.

There are five utopias assembled for this project that transform the five responses into a complex emergence that exceeds each of the decisions. An assemblage truly is greater than the sum of its parts.

utopia 1: five towers to accommodate the program
The brief asked for 240,000m2 of office space. Height controls, FAR requirements and a desire for shared views and equity of solar access distributed the towers in a staggered configuration on the site.

At the recommendation of BAU the programs of two of the five towers were changed from working to living. One is an affordable apartment the other is hotel. The three office towers are for lease to established enterprises requiring large areas. All five towers have public programs at both ground level and podium roof level. Entrepreneur networking clubs are located on top floors.

utopia 2: add a podium to provide an urban active edge, deflect downdrafts, provide additional space for the incubator program, and provide a positive street space
However, isolated towers spread over a site 300m long and 130m deep would not provide a positive urban experience for pedestrians, so a three-storey podium of active programs was located over the entire site.

The podium contains the incubator: 92,000 sqm of space dedicated to initiating and growing start-up companies and small enterprises. Legal, financial, constitutional, market research, networking, human resources and a range of other services are being established to guide and nurture. Lecture and exhibition spaces, meeting rooms, public recreation spaces, courtyards, serviced offices, kitchens, and a range of shared, small and medium sized offices and studios are provided. Three spines, two internal and one external, connect spaces along the entire 280m length of the podium. These are informal working and social places. 3D printing technology is the anchor industry for the incubator and has a significant exhibition central to the podium. The podium has a dedicated entrance lobby at ground floor with excalators connecting to all levels.

utopia 3: lift the podium to provide urban permeability to the active commercial programs behind the building
With a vibrant commercial project proposed behind the site and a major urban roadway in front there was strong argument for considerable permeability through the now positive and active podium. Rather than compromise the podiums ability to provide a large flexible continuous program of incubator space, it was decided to lift the podium two storeys of the ground to allow pedestrian access through to the commercial development behind.

utopia 4: add program under the elevated podium to take advantage of through pedestrian access
This now large covered urban space could have program distributed through it making the most of the through traffic being generated between the busy building entrances, the city street and the commercial project. The flows, trajectories and desire lines capture between them a series program bubbles, which became the basis for a landscape design.

Program at this level consists of restaurants and cafes, banks, telecom service centers, medical centres, newsagencies, flower shops, convenience stores, technology exhibition spaces, and a variety of fashion brand outlets managed by the adjacent mall.

utopia 5: place a roof garden on top of the elevated podium because Le Corbusier told us to do so
The roof of the podium was always going to be a roof garden, the only difference now was that it would be at level six, not level four. This roof garden has become one of the largest roof gardens in the world. Seen as a second ground level, the themes of flows, trajectories, desire lines, and resultant bubbles of program became the landscape of the roof garden as well. When viewed from the towers above the roof garden and the ground floor blur into the one surface.

The roof garden program and spaces include a 900m jogging loop; sports areas including both a basketball court and a tennis court; five pavilions for clubs and cafes; spaces in the base of the five towers for restaurants, canteens, a gym, a crèche and clubs; a playground; lawns; numerous shade pavilions with seating and tables for work and leisure; and an events pavilion for 2000 people. The roof bridges to the adjacent shopping mall roof landscape, also designed by BAU, extending the boardwalk jogging loop to 1.2km.

abstract machines
Five clear responses to five specific urban and architectural issues coexist. The difference generating elements of this assemblage have formed an abstract machine that has generated an incredibly clear yet complex assemblage of urban and architectural form, space, order and most importantly city-user experience.

an excessive minimalism
However this project is not just a heterotopia. It also reflects another sensibility that, because of its interest in context, has proven helpful – minimalism. Rather than ask: what are the urban design and architectural issues and how do we squeeze as much expression out of each of them as possible, BAU engaged with all these issues and then asked: what is the least that needs to be done to deal with each of those issues? This project is obviously not an exercise in abstract expressionism, but nor is it a retreat to a single-minded simplicity. It is an embrace of a complex minimalism, an assemblage of minimal responses to a multitude of complex urban and architectural issues and concerns – it could be seen to be the outcome of an excessive minimalism.

2000-2005

Melbourne

Urban Design

Kyneton

Mixed Use

Office

Residential

2015

Culture

Healthcare

Nanjing

Playgrounds

Public

Public Landscapes

Sports

Urban Landscapes

2005-2010

Hotel

Suzhou

Shanghai

Education

2014

Hangzhou

Jiangyin

Structures & Pavillions

Wuxi

Planning

2013

Retail

2012

Fuding

Shaoxing

Chongqing

Hospitality

Kunshan

Office

Wuhan

Hotel

Healthcare

Cixi

Ningbo

Meishan

Canberra

2011

Jingzhou

Private Landscapes

Chengdu

Hospitality

Culture

1990-2000

Xiamen

Residential

Hopetoun

Caofeidian

Huai’an

Xi'an

Xinyu

Mixed Use

Retail

Sports

BAU009 house in the sky

surreal adjacencies:
BAU019 Marymount Residence, Guest Accommodation, Stable + Office

mini-city of culture:
BAU590 Nanjing Pukou Haiqiao Community Service Center

keeping a low profile:
BAU 214 Suzhou Qingshan Hotel Phase I

positive space, human scale, and a blue-green net:
BAU 213-1 Jindi Yunhu Housing

dis-integrated guest houses :
BAU495 Pine Pillow Retreat

don’t look at me, don’t look at me:
BAU436 Nanjing Jiangning Demonstration Kindergarten

new buildings, old topography:
BAU424 Suzhou Qingshan Hotel Phase 2

don’t just re-use the typology, improve it!
BAU310-1 Hangzhou Changbanxiang Housing

defining the perimeter, programming the centre, inhabiting them both:
BAU238 Town Plaza, Xinqiao, Jiangyin

turning outside-in:
BAU199-2 Wuxi Fudi Forte Parktown Sales Pavilion

beyond PODS, networks, and nodes:
BAU552 Chengbei Urban Design project, Nanjing

podium and bill(ding)board:
BAU547 Nanjing Yaxi Town Central Hospital

inner sanctuary, outer crust:
BAU546 Nanjing Gaochun Qiqiao Hospital

an excessive minimalism:
BAU478-A U-Park Incubator, Shang Qing Huai, Nanjing

a plane of reference:
BAU474 Nanjing Zijin Gaochun Science and Technology City

rips in the fabric by place:
BAU461 Nanjing Tangshan Tourist Resort South District

other ideas of hospital:
BAU446 Fuding Hospital

architecture AND terrain:
BAU445 Suzhou Hi-tech District Cultural Center

crust: in-between and on the edge
BAU426 Shaoxing Jianhu Keyan Tourist Resort Planning

eco urbanism:
BAU425 Chongqing Eco Valley City

microcosm:
BAU348 Kunshan Hyper Complex

beyond the picturesque:
BAU347 Kunshan White Pagoda Park

don’t just re-use the typology, improve it!
BAU310 Hangzhou Changbanxiang Housing

building a community not just housing:
BAU302 Shanghai Ludi Baoshan

upside down program – ‘private’ circulation becoming ‘public’ circulation:
BAU254 Shanghai Wai Gao Qiao Culture Centre

extra-large private space as public space:
BAU199 Parktown, Housing, Fudi Forte, Wuxi

mini-me:
BAU197 Jindi Sanlin Pavilion

staggering:
BAU191 Wuhan Cuiwei Housing

urban camouflage:
BAU227 Hangzhou Sports Centre

positive space, human scale, and a blue-green net:
BAU213_1 Jindi Yunhu Housing

the resort at the end of the yellow dirt road:
BAU543 Emerald Village at Soul Bay

critical regionalism and abstraction:
BAU487 Nanjing Yaxi Citta-Slow

hospital for the ill, health care for the healthy, aged care for the elderly: BAU469 Zhaoxiang Hospital

communities as schools and schools as communities:
BAU408 Networks School Zhangjiang

tear open the package: BAU247 Qingpu NGS Supermarket

urban sponge:
BAU324 Cixi Commercial and Culture Center

lyrical islands in pragmatic seas:
BAU530_1 Nanjing Gaochun Su-Wan Interchange Hub

fractured enormity:
BAU281 Chongqing Huarun

ring roads AND peripheral parks:
BAU243 Shanghai Ring Park

simple box OR 3 points in space – you choose:
BAU204-2 Ningbo Wanda Office

many utopias:
BAU129 Xinhu Pearl City Housing Development

a close family:
BAU125 Zhejiang Power Company HQ

stretching, squeezing, bending, trimming:
BAU550 Huanglong Xigu Urban Design

BOTH networks AND objects:
BAU497 Wyndham Cove Eco Sub-urb

ethics, democracy, difference:
BAU470 towards a socially sustainable Canberra

warp and woof:
BAU460 Jingzhou Museum

sustainable technologies for clean living:
BAU396 Nanjing Residential

network of learning:
BAU341 Yushanwan School

not in galleries, but a way of seeing:
BAU338 Jingqiao Ramp Restaurant

shopping sandwich:
BAU321 Jiangyin Wuxing Commercial Centre

celebrating the collective, the intimate, the sustainable, and the local:
BAU312 Suzhou School

21st century Ponte Vecchio:
BAU287 Shanghai 2010 World Expo Bridge

antidote: not another ghetto city:
BAU285 Chengdu North Central

at last …finally …some diversity:
BAU282 Jindi Sanlin Office

recycling and beyond
BAU264 Jiashan Lu Apartment Block

an assemblage of difference:
BAU256 Shanghai Hongqiao Performing Arts Center

streets as shelters, bars as amphitheaters, landscapes as playgrounds:
BAU235 Jinqiao Community Bars

reduce, reuse, recycle:
BAU220 Shanghai Sculpture Space

binary oppositions defining a field of operation – all we wanted was a park:
BAU122 Xiamen International Exhibition Centre

the hotel as microcosm of the city:
BAU018 Marque Hotel

…very strange:
BAU016 Penny Lane

the beautiful and the extraordinary:
BAU013 Hopetoun Bush Resort

a dynamic yet stable vehicle:
BAU510 Suzhou Tram Co. Headquarters

palimpsest:
BAU486A Jiangyin Docklands Park

innovation both inside and out:
BAU433 Zhangjing Nobel Lake Park & Network

exquisite corpse
BAU416 Genetic City Caofeidian

landscape becomes urban design becomes architecture:
BAU390 Duolan Dong Dong Mixed Use Complex

BAU386 Symbiotic City

repetition and difference:
BAU384 Kunshan Pavilions

no longer drowning – waving:
BAU339-2&3 Suzhou Creek Promenade

yet another point of view:
BAU339-1 Suzhou Creek Serpentine Park

ordinary not heroic, symbolic not monumental:
BAU318 Hangzhou Xiaoshan Government Headquarters

woven threads:
BAU234 Jiangyin Arbour Park

private precincts, public networks:
BAU226 Pudong Yangjing

creative networks:
BAU224 Chengdu Fenghuangshan

maximize commuication and cross fertilization:
BAU208 Linping New City Centre

more than just a technopolis:
BAU206 Hangzhou Xiasha New City Centre

a second network embracing history, smalllness, and complexity:
BAU193 Chengdu West New District

a park for everyone and everyone in their park:
BAU189 Hongqiao Park

disorder – not randonmness but beyond order:
BAU182 Chengdu East Village

mosaics of teaching, networks of learning:
BAU149 Huai’an Tertiary Education District

walled cities within a walled city:
BAU147 Xi’an High-Tech Precinct CBD

co-existence without incompatibility:
BAU138 Jiangxi Xinyu Networks City

clarity and unpredictable adjacencies:
BAU119 Jinqiao Sports & Leisure Centre

space-time conflict:
BAU544 Shanghai University Campus

Top